Quick Links

Top of Page

Meeting Dates

Event Dates

School Map

Objectives

Being Informed

Mailing Lists

Guidelines

Being Involved

Feedback

Suggestion Box

Welcome to our web site. We trust that you find information that is helpful. Please feel free to contribute to either the P&C activities or this web site (or both!).

Meeting Dates

Note: The days and the week of term for meetings are coordinated to minimise conflict of different committees.

Time/ Date MEETINGS
7:00 pm
2017
Mon Nov 27
2018
Mon Feb 26 AGM
Mon Mar 26
Mon May 28
Mon Jun 25
Mon Jul 23
Mon Aug 27
Mon Oct 22
Mon Nov 26
P&C General Commitee
Held upstairs in Main Administration Building (off Woodsome Street).
Generally on the 4th Monday of each month of school,
the week after the School Board meeting.
(On Tuesday if Monday is a public holiday)
The Annual General Meeting is the first meeting of the calendar year.
Click here for more information on this Committee
08:45 - 10:15
2017
Wed Dec 6
2018
Wed Jan 31
Wed Feb 14
Wed Feb 28
Wed Mar 14
Wed Mar 28
Wed Apr 11
Wed May 02
Wed May 16
Wed May 30
Wed Jun 13
Wed Jun 27
Wed Jul 18
Wed Aug 01
Wed Aug 15
Wed Aug 29
Wed Sep 12
Wed Oct 10
Wed Oct 24
Wed Nov 07
Wed Nov 21
Wed Dec 05
Lawley Coffee Club - An informal gathering of Parents and Staff
On the Wednesdays of the odd numbered weeks of the school term
from about 08:45 to 10:15
At the School Cafe
Sign in at the Main Administration building (off Woodsome Street).
Join other parents and some staff members for an informal chat
Get to know others, provide feedback to the school and P&C in a relaxed atmosphere
Coffee and other drinks for purchase from the Cafe
Sign out on the way home
7:00 pm
2017
Thu Nov 23
2018
Thu Feb 08 AGM
Thu Mar 08
Thu May 10
Thu Jun 07
Thu Jul 26
Thu Aug 23
Thu Oct 18
Thu Nov 15
Music Support Committee Meeting
Held in Music Room.
Enter through the rear gates off Learoyd Street. The Woodsome Street gates will be locked.
Generally held on Thursdays in weeks 2 and 6 each term.
The Annual General Meeting is the first meeting of the calendar year.
Click here for more information on this Committee
7:00 pm
2017

Wed Nov 22
2018
Wed Feb 14 AGM
Wed Mar 14
Wed May16
Wed Jun 13
Wed Aug 01
Wed Aug 29
Wed Oct 24
Wed Nov 21
Wed
SVAPA Support Committee Meeting
Held in Green Room of the Tricycle Theatre.
Enter through the rear gates off Learoyd Street. The Woodsome Street gates will be locked.
Generally held on Wednesdays in weeks 3 and 7 each term.
The Annual General Meeting is the first meeting of the calendar year.
Click here for more information on this Committee
7:30 pm
2017
Wed Nov 15
2018
Wed Feb 07
Wed Mar 07 AGM
Wed May 09
Wed Jun 06
Wed Jul 25
Wed Aug 22
Wed Oct 17
Wed Nov 14
Languages Support Committee Meeting
Held upstairs in Main Administration Building (off Woodsome Street).
Generally held on Wednesdays in weeks 2 and 6 each term.
The Annual General Meeting is the second meeting of the calendar year.
Click here for more information on this Committee
7:00 pm
2017
Wed Oct 25
Wed Nov 22
2018
Wed Feb 13 AGM
Wed Mar 13
Wed May 15
Wed Jun 12
Wed Jul 31
Wed Aug 28
Wed Oct 23
Wed Nov 20
GAT Support Committee Meeting
Held upstairs in Main Administration Building (off Woodsome Street).
Generally held on Wednesdays in weeks 3 and 7 each term.
The Annual General Meeting is the first meeting of the calendar year.
Click here for more information on this Committee
6:30 pm
2017
Mon Aug 14
Mon Oct 13
Mon Nov 20
2018
School Board Meeting
Held upstairs in Main Administration Building (off Woodsome Street).
Only one meeting a year is open to parents.
Generally held on 3rd Monday of each month of school,
deliberately a week before the P&C Meeting.
(On Tuesday if Monday is a public holiday).
The annual appointments and Annual General Meeting are at the second meeting of the calendar year.
Click here for more information on the School Board
7:30 pm
2018
TBA
Lawley Art Auction Committee Meeting
Held upstairs in Main Administration Building (off Woodsome Street).
Click here for more information on the Lawley Art Auction

 

Event Dates - What, When, Where

There is also an extensive calendar on the Mount Lawley Senior High School home page:
http://www.lawley.wa.edu.au/view/community/calendar/

Term Dates are available on the WA Education Web Site at https://www.education.wa.edu.au/web/at-school/school-life/future-term-dates

Time / Date 2017 EVENTS (in date order)
5:30 pm
Dec
Carols on the Lawley Lawn
CANCELLED FOR 2017
Normally first Fri of Dec each year at MLSHS
Thu Dec 14 Last Day of Term 4 for students

School Map - Where Everything Is

City of Stirling safe parking leaflet

OBJECTIVES OF THE MLSHS P&C

The Mount Lawley Senior High School Parents and Citizens' Association Incorporated promotes the interests of the school through:

BEING INFORMED / MAILING LISTS

This site serves as a common reference/pointer to information on the P&C and the school.

To be informed of current P&C activitites, you need to join the General Mailing List run by the P&C for this purpose. The list keeps you informed of upcoming events, meetings, minutes, agendas etc.

We urge all parents and interested parties to join the P&C General Mailing List. Let others know about it!

Parents who want to subscribe to the General Mailing List
please Click here to send an email to mail-subscribe@mlshspc.org.au

There are also specialist mailing lists:

Parents of Music Students who want to subscribe to the Music Mailing List
please Click here to send an email to msc-subscribe@mlshspc.org.au

Parents of SVAPA (Specialist and Performing Arts) Students who want to subscribe to the SVAPA Mailing List
please Click here to send an email to ssc-subscribe@mlshspc.org.au

Parents of Languages Students...
Languages are treated differently from other sub-committees. Since the majority of students are learning a foreign lanuguage, it has been been decided that a separate (special) mailing list is not needed for Languages Students. So email for the Parent of Languages Students is sent to the General Email List; so please subscribe to the General Email List (see above).

Parents of GAT (Gifted and Talented) Students who want to subscribe to the GAT Mailing List
please Click here to send an email to gsc-subscribe@mlshspc.org.au




please Click for detailed information on Mailing Lists

Guidelines for Expenditure of Funds

(Click here to Download the Funding Application Form for PARENTS - PDF Document)

(Click here to Download the Funding Application Form for TEACHERS - PDF Document)

Funds raised (including those of the sub-committtes) are expended in accordance with the following guidelines adopted at the P&C General Meeting of 2010-11-22:

  1. Expenditure is expected to directly or indirectly benefit a significant group of students enrolled at this school.
  2. Preference is for expenditure that provides an enduring benefit rather than a short term impact.
  3. Preference is that funds raised will be expended on the current school population.
  4. Preference is for expenditure on items deemed a high priority by the P&C and where the school has limited capacity to fund.
  5. Funding for parental involvement in tours is acceptable provided that a clear selection process is advertised and adhered to. The parents must have a Working With Children Check. Parental involvement on a tour may or may not be partially subsidised.
  6. The P&C Executive Committee will determine the level of funds available to the MLSHS Finance Committee for allocation and those funds to be retained for other expenditure by the P&C.
  7. P&C delegates on the Finance Committee are charged with the responsibility of representing the wishes of the P&C and its broad priorities.
  8. Funds raised through voluntary contribution to the MLSHS Library Fund will be expended on eligible items, as defined by the Tax Act.

Guidelines from WACSSO

NOTE: These references may not be up to date. Refer to WACSSO Web Site for latest versions.

Click here for the WACSSO Guidelines on P&C Associations (PDF)

Click here for WACSSO guide on Chairing a Meeting (PDF)

Click here for the WACSSO Guidelines Code of Conduct (PDF)

Click here for the WACSSO Guidelines on an effective association (PDF)

Click here for the WACSSO Guidelines on promoting the association (PDF)

Click here for the WACSSO Guidelines on FAQ as at 2017-09-07 (PDF)

Click here for the WACSSO Guidelines on fund-raising (PDF)

BEING INVOLVED

YOU being informed is good, YOU being involved is better.

Choose your level of involvement; supporter, occasional helper, committee member or a leader.

Supporters
Support the P&C by *Attending events; *Donating your time; *Donating money (and let it be multiplied by the time put in by other parents); *Donating raffle prizes; *Sponsoring (many parents own businesses)

Occasional Helpers
"Many hands make light work!!!". You do not need to be on the committee to be involved; You can look for opportunities to help out; or when you are asked, say "Yes".

Committee Members
You work with like-minded Parents. It is an enjoyable and rewarding experience, for you and the students. It is not only what the P&C does directly, but also the lobbying and other spin offs that make MLSHS a great school to be at.

The Leaders
A few choose to lead. At MLSHS P&C we are fortunate to have benefited over the years from many individuals' efforts. Are you a leader?

YOU
Consider this... If everybody thinks somebody else will do it, nobody will. Not experienced? Not enough time? Whatever the excuse, put it aside and step up. Your involvement will make a difference.

Being involved, you get to know the teachers and the systems better. The personal contact, better understanding and networking you gain helps you out many times.

We continually need invigoration through new Parents. As children leave the school, so too their Parents.

So don't YOU hold back. We need YOU, YOUR children need YOU.

Please email John Pryor: john@mlshspc.org.au or Tel 6262 8127

FEEDBACK ON THE WEB SITE

Your constructive suggestions on content and presentation are welcome.
I do make errors so let me know so that they can be corrected for others :>)

The intent of this site is to provide information on the P&C; a central reference point.

As such, it (except the home page) will not be a dynamically updated site with all the latest news. For the latest news, check the "News" link at the top of this page.

Please email your comments to John Pryor: john@mlshspc.org.au

SUGGESTION BOX

Please let the President know:
Email: president@mlshspc.org.au

 

Web Site last updated on 2017-11-19